Writing to make ends meet…

Book Proposals are Hard!

Okay, so my title is an assertion of the obvious, I realize, but it’s about all my brain can muster right now. Of course if it were easy, everyone and their dog would have a book that would get published. I know I can do it, it’s just finding the time and the organization to get it done well.

The idea for the book came to me in a sort of an epiphany so I feel like there is something pushing me to propose and write it. It’s one of those feelings I just can’t ignore. Those of you who know me are probably thinking I’m crazy to even attempt anything that will take so much time with my crazy life and lack of time. You’re probably right, but this feels like something I need to do.

The book is going to be about how to teach controversial science topics in a high school classroom (evolution, stem cells, cloning, etc.). I’m excited about it and have a billion ideas swirling around in my head right now, but I just haven’t had time to write them down and organize them in a proposal form yet. Luckily, I’m on spring break next week, so I hope to get a majority of it fleshed out then. If I have time.

I’m already booked up with appointments and meetings for Monday afternoon, Tuesday morning, and Wednesday evening. Then I am attending a women’s conference all day Thursday and Friday (I am SO looking forward to the free massages). One of the workshops I’m attending at the conference is about writing books, so maybe that will help me with my proposal.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

