Writing to make ends meet…

Long Time, No Blog…

Well, hello there little neglected writing blog!  I almost forgot you existed.  Life got really busy, like writing 3 blogs, having another baby, switching teaching jobs, and of course all the other crazy stuff I do on a daily basis.  I’m back now, though, because my finances are, once again, overwhelmingly in a downward spiral.  That means it’s time to get back out actively searching for freelance writing jobs and sprucing things up around here to send potential employers when they are looking for my published clips.

I started with a new theme for the blog.  Do you like it?  I love the colors.  They are bright and unusual for a blog.  Hopefully, I convey the same things with my writing.  I like to market myself as bright and unusual.  The goal is to make the company I want to write for think that they can’t live without my outstanding services.  We’ll see how that goes.

I also briefly contemplated starting a resume writing service.  My only hesitation is that I’ve never created a resume for someone I don’t know.  I think I have a real talent for writing cover letters, but I realized that I’ve only written cover letters (and resumes, for that matter) for myself and my husband.  I think I know both of us pretty well, so it was a natural thing.  I’m not sure how I would do trying to talk up strong points of strangers unless they are really good at conveying who they really are and know themselves well enough to know what to highlight as a strength.  Anyway, it’s something for me to think about, I guess, and it seems it can be a pretty lucrative gig if you’re good at it.  Anyone out there had experience with resume writing that would want to share some tips?  Let me know in the comments!

And, of course, if you want to hire me (or just give me lots of free money…), let me know!  I’m back and ready to write!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

